September 30, 2008 Telephone Seminar: Interconnection and Net Metering

The IREC Telephone Seminar on Tuesday, September 30 at 2:30pm EDT (1:30pm CDT, 12:30pm MDT, 11:30am PDT, 10:30am Alaska, 8:30am Hawaii) was on interconnection and net metering.

In this seminar, recent trends and critical issues, including third party ownership, insurance and rollover of excess generation, and external disconnect switch, were discussed. Jason Keyes, Kevin Fox and Michael Sheehan, who work on these issues for the Interstate Renewable Energy Council, Inc., lead the seminar.

Jason Keyes

Jason Keyes co-founded Keyes & Fox, LLP in 2008. Primarily, he represents the Interstate Renewable Energy Council, Inc. in state utility commission rulemakings related to net metering and interconnection of renewable energy systems. His background includes regulatory work related to renewable energy project development and finance, eight years of government contract management for a solar energy start-up, and integrated resource planning for a major electric utility. Jason holds a JD from Seattle University School of Law, an M.A. in Economics from the University of Washington and a B.A. from Dartmouth College.

Kevin Fox

Kevin Fox co-founded Keyes & Fox, LLP with Jason Keyes. Kevin’s background includes regulatory work for electric, natural gas and water utilities as well as regulatory and project finance work for renewable energy project developers. He also completed research fellowships with two United States Department of Energy laboratories and worked in the Demand Analysis Division of the California Energy Commission. Like Jason, Kevin’s current practice focuses on representation of the Interstate Renewable Energy Council, Inc. in rulemakings related to net metering and interconnection of renewable energy systems. Kevin holds a J.D. from the University of California at Berkeley and a B.S. in Energy Policy Analysis and Planning from the University of California at Davis.

Michael Sheehan

Michael T. Sheehan, P.E., is an Interstate Renewable Energy Council, Inc. (IREC) representative working on state level rulemaking and workshops. In addition, he is the V.P. Utility Development for MicroPlanet, Inc. MicroPlanet is an energy efficiency company that sells electronic voltage regulators for both domestic and international utilities. He has extensive electric utility industry experience, in particular in interconnections, distribution reliability, T&D Planning, efficiency, and optimization measures. He has worked for three utilities (Commonwealth Edison, Virginia Power and Puget Sound Energy). He was a member of the IEEE 1547 Standard for Interconnecting Distributed Resources with Electric Power Systems. At Puget Sound Energy he developed the System Operator training program and designed the qualifications test and certification procedures. He is a registered Professional Engineer in the state of Washington and a graduate of the Illinois Institute of Technology.

This seminar was presented by the Interstate Renewable Energy Council, Inc. with funding from the U.S. Department of Energy’s Solar America Initiative.

You can download the MP3 audio file here.

 

For the next 72 hours, you can download any IREC report without having to fill out this form again!

This feature requires the use of cookies in your browser. Check your browser settings if you experience any problems.