ASES to be Inducted into the Environmental Hall of Fame

The American Solar Energy Society (ASES), along with 35 other awardees, will be inducted into the Evironmental Hall of Fame from November 20-22, 2008.

The mission of the Environmental Hall of Fame is to help recognize and implement solutions of top Environmentalists in order to help reduce global warming, energy costs, pollution and help increase energy independence. The founders of the Environmental Hall of Fame believe that implementing the technologies and recommendations of the Honorees would be enough to help transform the United States into a self-sufficient, renewable energy economy.

Inductees were selected following extensive research into environmental projects for over a year. Criteria for Hall of Fame award recipients include recommendations by peers, longevity in the environmental field and overall impact.

All attendees can have their picture taken on the Green Carpet. The Hero of Planet Earth (HOPE) Award will be given to members of all environmental groups who attend. Individual and group pictures can be displayed in an exhibit at the National Green Museum and Environmental Hall of Fame Museum.

In addition to ASES, the other November Honorees Include:

American Solar Energy Society (ASES), Bradley Collins

American Wind Energy Association (AWEA), Randall Swisher

Center for Neighborhood Technology (CNT), Urban Sustainability

Chicago Center for Green Technology (CCGT), Building Resources

Chicago Climate Action Plan, 80% Carbon Reduction 2050

Chicago Department of Environment, Chgo Climate Action Plan

Chicago Public Schools, Suzanne Carlson, Environ Program Manager

City of Naperville Renewable Energy, 8.5% Participation

Conscious Choice, Chicago’s Sustainability Magazine, 20 Years

Environment Illinois, Brian Granahan, Environmental Advocacy

Faith in Place, Clare Butterfield, 400 Green Church Partners

Geothermal Energy Association (GEA), Karl Gawell, Exec Director

GreenPower, Michael Spitzauer, From Biomass to Diesel Fuel

I-Go Car Sharing, Non-Profit Car Sharing Services

Illinois PIRG (IPIRG), Brian Imus, Public Transp Advocacy

Illinois Renewable Energy Association (IREA), Business Network

Illinois Renewable Portfolio Strategy, 15% Renewables by 2020

Illinois Solar Energy Association (ISEA), Mark Burger

Informed Energy Decisions, Energy Performance, 29 yrs Experience

James Dehlsen, Father of American Wind Energy

Kimpton Hotels, USA’s Greenest Hotel Chain

Mark Victor Hansen, Inspiration for Environmental Hall of Fame

Merchandise Mart, World’s Largest Green Building, Silver LEED

Mike Nicklas, Innovative Design for Sustainable Schools

Sadhu Johnston, Chief Environmental Officer, Mayor’s Office

ShoreBank, Pioneering and Premiere Green Bank, Since 1973

Sierra Club, America’s Oldest/Largest Environmental Organization

Suzanne Malec-McKenna, Director, Chicago Dept of Environment

Source: Environmental Hall of Fame

Press Release, 11/20/08


For the next 72 hours, you can download any IREC report without having to fill out this form again!

This feature requires the use of cookies in your browser. Check your browser settings if you experience any problems.