March 17, 2010 Webinar – Community Solar Purchases

The next Interstate Renewable Energy Council, Inc. (IREC) webinar will be jointly hosted with The Solar Foundation and will be held on Wednesday, March 17, 2010 at 2pm EDT (1pm CDT, noon MDT, 11am PDT). The topic will be Community Purchases: An Emerging Method for Solar Purchases.

This webinar will be jointly presented with The Solar Foundation as part of their weekly webinar series.  When you register for this webinar, you will be registered for the entire Solar Foundation webinar series.

Speakers: Kevin Fox, IREC; Gwen Rose, Vote Solar Initiative; Andria Jacob, Solar Now! (Portland, OR)

Recently, a number of states and utilities have begun to implement community solar programs as a means of facilitating customer investment in renewable energy.  Interest in community solar appears, at least in part, to come from recognition that while current policies promoting onsite generation have found increasing success, many ratepayers are not able to host an onsite system.

In this webinar, the Vote Solar Initiative and the Interstate Renewable Energy Council, Inc. will provide an overview of the programs that have been implemented thus far with a particular focus on (1) how projects are being financed, (2) how energy from community projects is being used, and (3) different approaches that have been taken thus far with regard to payment of utility distribution charges. The presentation will focus on what has worked so far, lessons learned, identifying problems with current methods, and any novel solutions. In addition, Ms. Andria Jacob will speak about Solarize Portland, a current, successful volume purchasing program that lowers the costs and logistical hurdles of going solar and has taken Portland by storm, and how this model could be spread to other communities across the U.S.

Register for the webinar.

For more information on The Solar Foundation, please visit www.thesolarfoundation.org.

For more information on the Interstate Renewable Energy Council, Inc., please visit www.irecusa.org.

 

For the next 72 hours, you can download any IREC report without having to fill out this form again!

This feature requires the use of cookies in your browser. Check your browser settings if you experience any problems.