July 20, 2010 Webinar – State Solar Policy and Market Trends; Catch the Replay

IREC’s Webinar on Tuesday, July 20, at 2pm EDT (1pm CDT, noon MDT, 11am PDT, 10am Alaska, 8am Hawaii) was on State Solar Policy and Market Trends with Justin Barnes and Larry Sherwood.

The past year has seen continued growth in solar installations, although the growth has been very different in different sectors of the solar market.  The Federal government has enacted new incentives –many related to the economic stimulus package — but state policies continue to be an important driver for most of the solar installations in the U.S. even with improved federal incentives.  This seminar will provide a summary of state solar policy trends and the resulting solar installations.

Justin Barnes of the N.C. Solar Center at N.C. State University discussed  state policies and trends based on research associated with the Database of State Incentives for Renewables & Efficiency (DSIRE).  Larry Sherwood of the Interstate Renewable Energy Council, Inc. discussed solar installation trends in the United States from his upcoming report, U. S. Solar Market Trends (2009).

Presentation slides, as well as an archived version of the webinar, are on this page.


Justin Barnes

Justin Barnes is a senior policy analyst at the N.C. Solar Center at N.C. State University. He researches and analyzes energy policies and programs at the federal level, in 11 U.S. states, and in Washington, D.C., for the DSIRE project. He will head up the N.C. Solar Center’s contributions to the Solar America Cities Technical Outreach effort, a new U.S. Department of Energy-funded program that will begin this summer. He holds a B.S. in geography from the University of Oklahoma and an M.S. in environmental policy from Michigan Technological University.

Larry Sherwood

Larry Sherwood is President of Sherwood Associates, a renewable energy consulting firm. He is the author of the annual IREC Report, U.S. Solar Market Trends, edits the IREC Small Wind Newsletter, and organizes this series of seminars.  In addition, he is Project Administrator for the Solar America Board for Codes and Standards and Executive Director of the Small Wind Certification Council. Previously, Mr. Sherwood served as Executive Director of the American Solar Energy Society.


Presentation slides

DSIRE Presentation_07_20_10

Sherwood-IREC-July2010


State Solar Policies and U.S. Market Trends from Jane Pulaski on Vimeo.

 

For the next 72 hours, you can download any IREC report without having to fill out this form again!

This feature requires the use of cookies in your browser. Check your browser settings if you experience any problems.