Board welcomes back six returning members 

The Interstate Renewable Energy Council, Inc. (IREC) announces the addition of Karl Rábago to its Board of Directors, and the election of six returning members.  The IREC Board of Directors also elected David Warner as chair and Larry Sherwood as vice chair at its annual meeting last week, in conjunction with Solar Power International 2012, an industry trade show and exposition in Orlando, FL.

Karl has more than 20 years experience in electricity policy and regulation, emerging energy markets development, clean energy technology development, and the implementation of sustainability principles.  Karl chairs the board for the Center for Resource Solutions and helped create the “Green-e” Certification program for renewable energy products.

His past positions include: vice president, distributed energy, Austin Energy; deputy assistant secretary at the U.S. Department of Energy; commissioner, Texas Public Utility Commission; sustainability leader with NatureWorks, LLC; and managing director and principal, Rocky Mountain Institute.

IREC is pleased to welcome back six returning members to its Board:  Vicki Colello of New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA); Chris Cook of Solar Grid Storage, LLC; Ken Jurman of Virginia’s Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy; Steve Kalland of the North Carolina Solar Center; Marc Roper of Tioga Energy; and David Warner of the National Renewable Energy Laboratory.

“IREC is fortunate to gain from the board’s deep level of experience and national leadership,” says Jane Weissman, IREC executive director. “Bringing a wonderful combination of wisdom and wit, board members keep IREC ahead of the curve, shaping  issues and trends in renewable energy and energy efficiency.”

The IREC Board of Directors is made up of 14 individuals with broad expertise in the clean energy community.  Board members are selected by vote by IREC members and serve two-year terms.  A complete listing of all IREC Board members is on its website.