Abigail Hopper, Julia Hamm, Tom Starrs celebrate with Jane Weissman at our 35th anniversary

It was a festive evening and a milestone celebration. More than 100 colleagues, friends and supporters came together March 8th in Washington, DC, to honor IREC’s Chief Energy Hero, Jane Weissman, for her legendary lifetime achievements in clean energy. The event highlighted IREC’s Impact@35 years and acknowledged the championship of two elected officials as 2017 IREC Energy Heroes.

“The room was packed full of people who make a difference – who have turned the dial from a clean energy future to today’s clean energy reality,” said Weissman.

Honored 2017 Energy Heroes are: U.S. Senator Ed Markey (D-MA), and U.S. Representative Paul Tonko (D-NY).

A Congressional citation was presented to Jane from the U.S. Senate, and former IREC presidents and founders together read a detailed proclamation that highlighted the results of her path-defining careeer.

Against the backdrop of “the stunning political reality we are in now,” Weissman shared some brief thoughts about the “game changers that need to be substituted in, so we don’t lose home court advantage.”

To a standing ovation, she concluded: “I thank the IREC Board for having confidence in me for so many years. I thank all of our funders for their trust.  And, I thank a staff who put up with my 5am start time. It’s a dream to have a job that you awake to eagerly, have that energy buzz all day, and end tired but ready to start the next day.”

Relive the event. View the pictures! 

Special thanks to our Host Committee, those who set themselves apart with their special recognition of Jane Weissman’s extraordinary accomplishments and IREC’s 35th anniversary.

Ward Bower
Bill Brooks
George Burmeister & Colorado Energy Group
David Compaan
Chris Cook
David Cox, Professional Testing, Inc.
Mike DeAngelis
John Dunlop
Michael Eckhart
Mark Farber
Ruth Fein
Brian Gallagher
Charlie Gay
Jeff Genzer
Benjamin Dean Goldstein
Julia Hamm
Rusty Haynes
Charlie Hemmeline
Thomas Hoff
John Hoffner
Steve Hogan
Ken Jurman
Steve Kalland
Jason Keyes
Tom Kimbis
Maureen Lambe
Mary & Richard Lawrence
Leslie Libby
Barbara L. Martin
Erica McConnell
Richard C. Michaud
Micheal Nelson
Christina Nichols
Christine Niero, Professional Testing, Inc.
Jacob L. Parks
Eileen Prado
Jane Pulaski
Bill Rever & Katie Bolcar Rever
Wilson Rickerson
Marc Roper
Joe and Colleen Sarubbi
Jeff Serfass
Jigar Shah
Larry Sherwood
Larry Shirley
Carl Siegrist
Kathryn Sikule & Brownstone
Scott Sklar
Mary Spruill
Sky C. Stanfield
Kathy Swartz & Solar Energy International
Jen Szaro
Geoff Stapleton
Tom Starrs
Carol Sue Tombari
Michael Totten
Jerry & Nancy Ventre
Chris Warfel & Entech Engineering
David & Cecile Warner
Howard Wenger
Jack and Carol Werner
Sarah L. White
Donald B. Wichert
Joe Wiedman
Larry Zarker 


For the next 24 hours, you can download any IREC report without having to fill out this form again!

This feature requires the use of cookies in your browser. Check your browser settings if you experience any problems.